The Baar – a cultural landscape

The Baar is an ancient cultural landscape consisting of cultivated land, fallow land and nature reserves. With these images we want to give you an impression of the biodiversity, which has established itself in this region in spite of the harsh climate.

Lady’s-slipper: The orchid-rich forests around Hüfingen atract botanists from all over Germany. Around 30 different types of orchids can be discovered there. A new nature trail enables visitors to learn more learn more about dies floral treasures of the Baar. Sadly there is no English version of the website or the flyer, but the map should still be interpretable. (Link).

Red kite: The Baar is home to the largest population of this magnificent bird of prey in all of Baden-Württemberg. According to EU-law it is a protected species. The red kite is also the main reason for the bird reserve “Baar”.

Mountain Alcon Blue: This beatiful butterfly can only be found in few areas; the dry grasslands of the Baar are one of them. While its caterpillars eat cross-leaved gentian in the beginning, they later let ants feed them.

White stork: 20 years ago, the stork was on the brink of extinction. Luckily the population numbers increased and now it has returned to many of the villages and cities of the Baar. Sometimes even black storks visit.
Link
Siberian iris: The wetlands of the Riedbaar are one of the westernmost distributions of the Siberian iris.
Link
Checkered daffodil: If you are in Bräunlingen in late spring you might get a look at the checkered daffodil.
Link

Beaver: Formerly extinct in all of Germany, the beaver is retaking its habitats. The beaver returned to the Baar in the early 2000s and can be found in almost every creek, keeping the nature conservation and water authorities occupied with its dams.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Besondere Arten der Baar

Die Baar ist eine alte Kulturlandschaft, in der sich Äcker, Wiesen, Moore und wenige Wälder abwechseln. Mit diesen Bildern wollen wir einen kleinen Eindruck von der Artenvielfalt dieser Landschaft geben.

Frauenschuh: Wegen des Hüfinger Orchideenwaldes kommen Botaniker aus ganz Deutschland zu Besuchen auf die Baar. Rund 30 Orchideenarten können dort beobachtet werden. Ein neu eingerichteter Lehrpfad erschließt die Schätze dieses Waldes für Besucher. (Link). Die Zufahrt erfolgt über das Römerbad zum Wasserbehälter, wo man parken kann.

Rotmilan: Die Baar beherbergt die größte baden-württembergische Population dieses beeindruckenden Greifvogels. Er ist nach EU-Recht geschützt und hauptsächlich für ihn wurde das Vogelschutzgebiet „Baar“ ausgewiesen.

Bläuling: Nur noch an wenigen Stellen kommt der Kreuzenzian-Ameisenbläuling vor, dessen Raupen sich zunächst vom Kreuzenzian ernähren, später aber von Ameisen durchfüttern lassen. Die Trockenrasen der Baar gehören dazu.

Storch: Vor 20 Jahren fast ausgestorben, besiedelt der Weißstorch heute wieder mehrere Dörfer der Baar. Mittlerweile kann man als Gast auch gelegentlich Schwarzstörche beobachten.
Link
Sibrische-Schwertlilie: Eines der westlichsten Vorkommen der Sibirischen Schwertlilie wächst in Feuchtgebieten der Riedbaar.
Link
Schachblume: Wer im Spätfrühjahr zur richtigen Zeit in Bräunlingen ist, kann mit etwas Glück die Schachblume entdecken.
Link

Biber: Früher in ganz Deutschland ausgerottet, erobert der Biber heute wieder seinen Lebensraum. Auf der Baar ist er in den frühen 2000ern angekommen, mittlerweile hat er fast alle Bäche wieder besiedelt und hält mit seinen Dammbauten die Naturschutzbehörden und die für die Gewässer verantwortlichen Bauhöfe auf Trab.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email